Africa Cup of Nations 2021 groups revealed

Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) 2021

Fifty-two countries took part in the qualifiers for the Africa Cup of Nations with only 24 places available.

The qualified teams unveiled after a campaign that started in October 2019 and ended in June 2021 due to a one-year hiatus caused by Covid-19, are now fixed on their opponents.

Following the draw for the final tournament held in Yaoundé yesterday (Tuesday) August 17, the 24 qualified teams were divided into four groups.

The opening match will pit tournament host and five-time Africa Cup of Nations winners Cameroon against Burkina Faso, runners-up of 2013 AFCON.

The Africa Cup of Nations, Cameroon 2021, will take place from January 9 to February 6 2022.

CAF President, Dr Patrice Motsepe, was in the front row to attend the draw as well as African legends Samuel Eto’o, Didier Drogba and Asamoah Gyan.

Five main cities were selected as hosts of the tournament, namely Douala and its Japoma Stadium, Yaoundé and its Ahmadou Ahidjo and Olembé Stadiums, Bafoussam and its Kouekong Stadium, Garoua and its Roumdé-Adjia Stadium and finally the Limbe-Buea venue which houses the Limbe Omnisport Stadium.

AFCON groups:

Group A: Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Cape Verde

Group B: Senegal, Zimbabwe, Guinea, Malawi

Group C: Morocco, Ghana, Comoros, Gabon

Group D: Nigeria, Egypt, Sudan, Guinea-Bissau

Group E: Algeria, Sierra-Leone, Equatorial Guinea, Côte d’Ivoire

Group F: Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Gambia

Road to Final

Group stage: from January 9 to 20, 2022

Round of 16: January 23-26, 2022

Quarter-finals: January 29 and 30, 2022

Semi-finals: February 2 and 3, 2022

Third Place match and Final: February 6, 2022


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here