Albertine RPC, other senior police officers transferred

ACP Deo Obura, the Regional Police Commander for Bunyoro sub region has been transferred (File photo)

The Albertine Region Police Commander (RPC), Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP) Deo Obura, is among the 254 senior police officers who have been transferred by the police top leadership.

Obura’s transfer is contained in a message by the Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIGP), Maj Gen Paul Lokech, issued at the weekend. Mr Obura has been transferred to Kampala Metropolitan East to serve in the same capacity as RPC. He is replaced by Superintendent of Police (SP) Vincent Mwesigwa from Ssezibwa region.

Other transferred senior police officers include Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP), Esther Akwango, who has been recalled from Nairobi where she was serving as police attaché, to take up an appointment as the Ssezibwa RPC.

Commissioner of Police (CP) Paul Kato Tumuhimbise who was appointed to deputise Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIGP) Grace Akullo who is in charge of the Criminal Investigations Directorate (CID) headquarters in Kibuli. Mr Kato has been serving in the Human Resource Management Directorate.

Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP), Rose Nahyuha, was transferred from Women Affairs where she has been serving as Acting Commissioner; appointed administrator in the Human Resource Management (HRM).

SSP Damali Nachuha was moved from Counter-Terrorism to Aswa region as RPC as Superintendent of Police (SP) Alex Mwine Mukono – the face most remembered for dispersing catholic clerics during a Mbogo clan meeting in Mityana, last year was moved from HRM to the Human Resource Development Directorate under AIGP Godfrey Golooba.

SP Slivia Auma is now the new Women Affairs acting Commissioner, an office, which is directly under the deputy IGP. SP Richard Senyondo has been moved from the directorate of ICT and appointed new commandant of Police Mineral Protection Unit.

SP Alex Jimmy Ojok from Counter-Terrorism has been moved to HRM at police headquarters while SP Christopher Katumba Kiggundu from Environmental Protection Police Unit has been moved to Chief Political Commissariat headed by AIGP Asan Kasingye.

SP Alfred Bangambaki has been moved from Anti-Stock Theft Unit to Bukedi North as RPC, SP Kidima from Rwizi to HRM police headquarters while SSP Mark Odongo – the commandant of the Special Investigations Division (SID) in Kireka has been replaced with ACP Francis Olugu, who had previously been serving as the deputy director in charge of economic and corruption investigations at the CID headquarters.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here