CMI investigates Kagadi police over involvement in partisan politics, torture

Albertine RPC, Deo Obura at the home of Mr Stephen Rulekere in Kamata Village, Paacwa Sub-county in Kagadi District.

A combined team of investigators from the Chieftaincy of Military Intelligence (CMI) and the Albertine Regional Police Headquarters is investigating Kagadi police for allegedly involving in partisan politics as well as torturing some politicians.

Yesterday (Thursday) the investigators led by the Albertine Regional Police Commander (RPC), Mr Deo Obura, rushed to Kagadi police station and the home of the Buyaga East constituency NRM flag bearer, Mr Stephen Twesige Rulekere, who is accusing the police of being bribed by his competitors to harass him and interrupt his campaigns.

On Wednesday, Mr Rulekere was rushed to a local clinic after police unleashed teargas to him as he returned from Kampala where he was declared winner for the NRM party flag, trouncing seven candidates in the race including the incumbent, Mr Eric Musana.

The Bunyoro Kitara Kingdom ex-Prime Minister claims that Kagadi police has been conspiring with his political rivals to kill him.

Such a scenario prompted the politician to call for the regional and national security team “to probe the matter to its logical conclusion before the situation runs out of hand”.

The Albertine Regional Police spokesperson, Mr Julius Allan Hakiza, revealed that the team is investigating all election violence reports in the region.

With reference to Mr Rulekere’s claims, Mr Hakiza said that if found guilty, Kagadi police officers will be subjected to disciplinary action.

Some supporters of Mr Stephen Rulekere celebrate his victory after being declared winner of the NRM party flag.

Meanwhile, Mr Musana has rejected the results from the NRM party primary elections that were announced by the NRM Electoral Commission (EC) Chairperson, Dr Tanga Odoi, on Tuesday.

While at Kyadondo, the seat of the NRM party, Dr Odoi declared Mr Rulekere winner of the primary polls.

In the results, Mr Rulekere garnered 28,686 votes (42%) against Mr Musana’s 27,162 votes (40%) while Mr Peter Amara got 10,966 votes.

Mr Robert Birungi got 37 votes, Mr Emmanuel Kisembo Diini scooped 10 votes while Mr Kerian Tukamushaba gathered 367 votes.

Mr Bright Alinaitwe got 385 votes while Mr Patrick Kakooza got 1,079 votes.

However, Mr Musana rejected the results citing irregularities.

“My next course of action will be decided by the people based on consultations,” Mr Musana told our reporter this morning.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here