Kaboyo trounces Mugasa, Kirungi bounces back in Hoima NRM party primaries

Mr Brian Kaboyo, NRM party flag bearer for Hoima City mayoral seat in the 2021 elections.

The acting Mayor for Hoima Oil City, Ms Grace Mary Mugasa, has lost the NRM party primaries for the city mayoral seat to Mr Brian Kaboyo in the polls held today to elect the party flag bearers for mayors and LC 5 chairpersons countrywide.

In the results announced at Kitara secondary school tally centre in Hoima city at 8pm, the Hoima NRM party Registrar, Mr Brian Mugenyi, declared Mr Kaboyo the winner of the party primaries after garnering 1, 1074 votes against Ms Mugasa who scooped 8,459 votes.

Mr Frederick Ziwa Alibankoha scooped 1,067 votes.

Mr Mugenyi announced the results amidst tight security involving the Uganda Police Force (UPF) personnel and the Uganda People’s Defence Forces (UPDF) soldiers.

Ms Grace Mary Mugasa, acting Hoima oil city mayor trounced in NRM party primaries.

Mr Kadir Kirungi, the incumbent Hoima District LC 5 chairperson, was declared NRM flag bearer for the 2021 general elections after defeating NRM deputy chairperson, Mr Vincent Muhumuza and former Kyankwanzi Resident District Commissioner, Mr James Mugenyi.

The results were declared at midnight.

Security was heavily deployed at the tally centre following hallmarks of looming chaos that were manifested among some aspirants with each claiming to smell a rat in the polls.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here